The Resource The only kayak : a journey into the heart of Alaska, Kim Heacox

The only kayak : a journey into the heart of Alaska, Kim Heacox

Label
The only kayak : a journey into the heart of Alaska
Title
The only kayak
Title remainder
a journey into the heart of Alaska
Statement of responsibility
Kim Heacox
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Kim Heacox, writing in the tradition of Abbey, McPhee, and Thoreau, discovers an Alaska reborn from beneath a massive glacier, where flowers emerge from boulders, moose swim fjords, and bears cross crevasses with Homeric resolve. In such a place Heacox finds that people are reborn too, and their lives begin anew with incredible journeys, epiphanies, and successes. All in an America free of crass commercialism and overdevelopment. Braided through the larger story are tales of gold prospectors and the cabin they built sixty years ago; John Muir and his intrepid terrier, Stickeen; and a dynamic geology professor who teaches earth science as if every day were a geological epoch. Nearly two million people come to Alaska every summer, some on large cruise ships, some in single kayaks--all in search of the last great wilderness, the Africa of America. It is exactly the America Heacox finds in this story of paradox, love, and loss
Biography type
contains biographical information
Cataloging source
VYF
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Heacox, Kim
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
no index present
LC call number
F912.G5
LC item number
H43 2006
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Heacox, Kim
  • Heacox, Kim
  • Community life
  • Outdoor life
  • Environmentalism
  • Kayaking
  • Community life
  • Ecology
  • Environmentalism
  • Kayaking
  • Manners and customs
  • Outdoor life
  • Travel
  • Glacier Bay Region (Alaska)
  • Glacier Bay Region (Alaska)
  • Glacier Bay Region (Alaska)
  • Glacier Bay Region (Alaska)
  • Alaska
  • Pacific Ocean
  • Biography
Label
The only kayak : a journey into the heart of Alaska, Kim Heacox
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 241-245)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm
Edition
1st Lyons Press paperback edion.
Extent
xvi, 249 pages
Isbn
9781592288946
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
maps
System control number
  • (OCoLC)83263868
  • 856297
  • (OCoLC)ocm83263868
  • 856297
Label
The only kayak : a journey into the heart of Alaska, Kim Heacox
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 241-245)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm
Edition
1st Lyons Press paperback edion.
Extent
xvi, 249 pages
Isbn
9781592288946
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
maps
System control number
  • (OCoLC)83263868
  • 856297
  • (OCoLC)ocm83263868
  • 856297

Library Locations

  • Atla Reading RoomBorrow it
    Alta Community Center, Alta, UT, 84092, US
    40.5909775 -111.6336319
  • Bingham Creek LibraryBorrow it
    4834 West 9000 South, West Jordan, UT, 84081, US
    40.587911 -112.006046
  • Calvin S. Smith LibraryBorrow it
    810 East 3300 South, Salt Lake City, UT, 84106, US
    40.699891 -111.868008
  • Columbus LibraryBorrow it
    2530 South 500 East, South Salt Lake City, UT, 84106, US
    40.716014 -111.87685
  • Draper LibraryBorrow it
    1136 East Pioneer Rd (12400 S), Draper, UT, 84020, US
    40.525244 -111.85876999999999
  • Herriman LibraryBorrow it
    5380 West Herriman Main Street, Herriman, UT, 84096, US
    40.515750 -112.019600
  • Holladay LibraryBorrow it
    2150 East Murray-Holladay Rd. (4730 South), Holladay, UT, 84117, US
    40.666681 -111.829078
  • Hunter LibraryBorrow it
    4740 West 4100 South, West Valley City, UT, 84120, US
    40.682058 -112.003649
  • Kearns LibraryBorrow it
    5350 South 4220 West, Kearns, UT, 84118, US
    40.653706 -111.991672
  • Magna LibraryBorrow it
    2675 South 8950 West, Magna, UT, 84044, US
    40.7111425 -112.1042511
  • Millcreek LibraryBorrow it
    2266 E. Evergreen Ave, East Millcreek, UT, 84109, US
    40.696727 -111.82553899999999
  • Riverton LibraryBorrow it
    12877 South 1830 West, Riverton, UT, 84109, US
    40.51733 -111.941139
  • Ruth Vine Tyler LibraryBorrow it
    8041 S. Wood Street (55 W), Midvale, UT, 84047, US
    40.605313 -111.89331
  • Sandy LibraryBorrow it
    10100 South Petunia Way (1405 East), Sandy, UT, 84092, US
    40.567433 -111.851611
  • South Jordan LibraryBorrow it
    10673 South Redwood Road, South Jordan, UT, 84095, US
    40.5573 -111.936954
  • Taylorsville LibraryBorrow it
    4870 South 2700 West, Taylorsville, UT, 84118, US
    40.663512 -111.957993
  • West Jordan LibraryBorrow it
    8030 South, 1825 West, West Jordan City, UT, 84088, US
    40.6048 -111.9419
  • West Valley LibraryBorrow it
    2880 West 3650 South, West Valley City, UT, 84119, US
    40.692976 -111.961397
  • Whitmore LibraryBorrow it
    2197 East Fort Union Boulevard, Salt Lake City, UT, 84121, US
    40.623974 -111.827312
Processing Feedback ...